Kalliope Kids: Unicorn Cape

What do you do when a child asks you to make her a unicorn dress?  If you are my sister, you say, “Ask your aunt.”  If you are me you say, “Okay, a dress with a unicorn on it?  Like a poodle skirt?  No Problem!”  To which the answer was, “No, a dress that will make me a unicorn!”  Uhmmmmm….

I convinced her that a unicorn cape would be better than a dress, since she could then wear it over anything and just use it to play and run around in.  So the idea for the unicorn cape was born.

I started with a satin cape, then added rows of chiffon ‘scales’ made of light and dark pink and purple.  I cut all the scales out, then tossed them in a large bowl so I could make the color pattern as random as possible.  I decided to let the edges fray a bit, so didn’t finish them–we shall see how this goes in the long run!

The next step was to add a hood that would hold a unicorn horn.  I decided to do a double layered hood, and sewed in a headband onto the bottom layer to add some stability.  I created a tube to add a ribbon through to tie off the cape when I attached the hood, then made the horn and wings out of gold fabric (unicorns have to have gold horns).

I have to admit that, though I love the cape and its scales/feathers, I am not loving the wings.  I was hoping to one day add this to my etsy shop (which has been set up but hasn’t yet been stocked), but I think I may need to make some tweaks before I try to sell it.  What do you think?

(PS.  This cape, though magical, does not allow the wearer to fly.  My niece would disagree, but I thought I should put the caveat in!)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kristy
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 23:06:14

    I LOVE the cape. Love it even on the baby 🙂 Better without the wings, though you couldn’t convince the 5 year old of that.

    Reply

  2. amiciarai
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:22:49

    I want that cape! O.O And I’m 25…
    Awesome job! 😀

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 23:34:01

    Thanks amiciarai! I’m pretty sure I make things for my niece that I really want–and just live vicariously through her!

    Reply

  4. psgrannie
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 04:03:41

    I love it too and I’m 62!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

