Miscellaneous: Apple Pies and Apple Crisps in Jars

20120930-141551.jpgHow much fun is apple picking in the fall? At least the picking part of it is! Then there is the large quantity of apples to deal with once you get home… All that washing and peeling if you decide to make something with them!

20120930-141732.jpgThis year I decided to try out an idea that has been floating around Pinterest–apple pies in mason jars. Single serving treats that can go from the freezer to the oven to the table. And let me tell ya, I love these! Although I found it to be a lot of work for the pies–putting the pie crust in the jars (I could only find the narrow half pint mason jars, so they weren’t as easy to work with.). So I decided that I should move to apple crisps in jars–even easier!

20120930-142053.jpgI started out by washing, peeling, and cubing all our apples–there were a lot more than I thought once I finished this! I divided them up, setting aside the ones for the crisp (I tried to keep them in water so they wouldn’t brown while I was making the pies). I then mixed up the pie filling: I did 9 cups of apples mixed with 9 Tbsp flour, 9 Tbsp sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to taste. I set that aside, and set to putting pie crusts into the jars. I admit I cheated here and used pre-made crusts, but I think it would be just as easy and better tasting to do homemade since it just involves pressing pieces of crusts against the sides of the jars. I did cut out the tops before I started, using the jar ring to cut circles and using a tiny cookie cutter to cut a shaped vent in the lid.

20120930-143024.jpgOnce the crusts were in, I filled the jars as much as possible, pressing the filling mix in, drizzled a tiny bit of melted butter on them, then added the top and sealed the edges–then I just popped the tops on and put them in the freezer!

20120930-143005.jpg
My apple crisps were even easier–I just mixed up a large batch of crumble (1 cup oats, 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup melted butter, and cinnamon to taste–I had to double this) and set to packing. I fill there jars halfway with cubed apples, added some crumble, filled them almost to the top with apples, then topped it off with more crumble.

20120930-143442.jpgSuper duper easy!
I cooked up one of each kind for us to try out–both tasted fantastic! So much so that I forgot to take a picture of the end product before we ate them all up!
I did add all the lids and put them in the freezer to keep. I cooked the thawed version at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes–until the pie crusts and the crumbles were browned. I read that you can put the jars straight from freezer to oven–just stick them in the cold oven and let them warm up with it. I will try that next time!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whenlifeisgood
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 20:13:10

    What a brilliant idea!

    Reply

  2. psgrannie
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 19:20:05

    Yummie… The pictures are beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

