Miscellaneous: Laundry and Dishwasher Soap

20121013-103346.jpgI made detergent! Lots of people do, but I never have. So this is news around my house.
I had been seeing lots of pins on Pinterest about making your own laundry detergent and dishwasher detergent, and it made me interested. Especially since I do sooooo much laundry around this house (three kids, three adults, three dogs makes for quite a bit of mess) and I thought that it would be nice to have a large amount for much less money. So I tried it out.
It turns out the actual process of making the soap is not that time consuming. I bit of mixing and some grating. The only issue I had was finding a bowl large enough to hold all the soap while I was mixing it (I never found one–I just mixed it in a garbage bag). I have yet to try out the laundry detergent–I am still trying to finish off the last bottle of store bought. And I don’t want to tell my sister when I try it out–she has skin allergies and I want to see if it irritates her without telling her when I use it because she thinks it is going to bother her (yes, Kristy, I am playing mind games with you…).

20121013-104225.jpgI also made dishwasher detergent, and that I HAVE tried out, and it is fantastic! The white film on my glasses has disappeared, and I am very excited about that! I put both of my detergents in glass jars, which I etched with glass etch just for fun. The laundry detergent makes about 2 gallons of soap, so I divided it into two 1-gallon jars. (There are 2-gallon glass jars out there, but I wanted my soap in screw-top jars and the 2-gallon ones didn’t screw. I thought having the screw top would seal it better, since it is soap–I want to keep water out until I use it!).
Here are the recipes I used in case you want to try too!

Laundry Detergent:
1 box Borax
1 box A&H baking soda
1 box A&H washing soda
1 large tub OxyClean
3 bars Fels-Naptha soap, grated

Mix it all up, and use 1-2 tablespoons per load. Add 1/4 cup white vinegar to the fabric softener dispenser for an extra clean rinse!
Recipe from beingcreativetokeepmysanity.blogspot.com!

Dishwasher Soap:
1 1/2 cups Lemi-Shine
1 1/2 cups A&H washing soda
1/2 cup A&H baking soda
1/2 cup sea salt

Mix it all up, and use 1-2 tablespoons per load. Add vinegar to the jet-dry dispenser or to a cup in the top rack of the dishwasher for a rinse aid.
Recipe from theecofriendlyfamily.com!

(I have read that vinegar can degrade plastic parts, at least in the dishwasher. Use these recipes at your own risk!)

05/2013 UPDATE: I just ran out of laundry soap, and believe me, I do a LOT of laundry. So this stuff lasts quite a while. And I love it. It works just as well as the other brands I was using (which admittedly is not perfect, but I saw no difference in quality) and the price and longevity can’t be beat. The dishwasher soap, on the other hand, was a total fail…

Leave a Reply

