Khepri Designs: Refinishing and Repurposing Furniture

20130101-192206.jpgHappy New Year! It’s the start of 2013, and, though I try not to make resolutions since I can’t ever seem to keep them, I do have one this year. It is to finish at least one project a week. (A few years ago I may have said one a day, but I am at least getting more realistic in my old age!). And I at least started the year off right and managed to get this project done!

20130101-192558.jpgThis chest has been in my house for as long as I can remember. I think it was in my family room when I was a kid (maybe?), and more recently it has served as a junk table by our front door. It has moved to multiple houses, and has gotten kind of banged up in the process. At some point, someone left food on the top of it, so there were some nice dog nail scratches on it as well. What can I say, but I have a food mongrel.

20130101-193016.jpgI spent the day refinishing this beast–three grits of sandpaper and my handy finishing sander (I do love power tools!) and I had the dark varnish off and most of the nicks sanded away. (In case you were wondering, I used 60 grit, 100 grit, and 150 grit, in that order.) I didn’t worry too much about the interior edges, and I left a bit around the harder corners, since I was re-staining it dark again anyway–just enough to get the stain into it and remove the nicks. Then I used a single coat of stain–Varathane wood stain in Kona. Wipe it on with a rag, wipe the excess off. How easy is that? And it left a great, no streaky coat of stain.

20130101-193636.jpgI then top-coated it with a layer of Minwax Polycrylic finish (I like water-based finishes for things I am using paint brushes for–it makes for easy clean up).

20130101-193948.jpgI then added a set of new knobs, and voila! A new (old) desk for me, and the unit can move to a new room in my house!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kristy
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 04:02:14

    It was TYSON that scratched it (when it was in my Rancho Cucamonga apartment). It looks great. I want it back, ha ha ha….

    Reply

  2. kristy
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 04:02:43

    PS – it must feel great to be done for the week!

    Reply

  3. psgrannie
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 17:47:27

    I’ve always loved this table. I bought it at a really neat store on Government Street in Victoria. But it looks even better now! Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. Diana roloff
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 19:17:24

    Nice job!! What a good way to accomplish goals for the new year by planning to finish one goal per week. I should do that to my cl0sets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

