Khepri Designs: Quick and Easy Framed Chalkboards

20130530-220753.jpgSince I am posting about photo shoot props, I thought I should add this quick and easy one that I did earlier in the week (I also made some cardstock glasses and hats on sticks for the photos, but you aren’t getting a post about that. Too bad. They are paper glasses on sticks. I think it’s pretty self explanatory:) …)
I wanted chalkboards for this shoot, too, so came up with this easy way to make framed ones. I purchased two super-cheap frames (like $2 cheap) from Staples, but you can find them at the dollar store, thrift store, etc. Just look for one with a pressboard back that pops out.

20130530-222008.jpg

20130530-222024.jpgThen just spray that pressboard piece with chalkboard paint, let dry, and put it back in the frame (without the glass or anything else in front of it). I told you it was super easy!

20130530-222212.jpg

If you have never used chalkboard paint, you have to prep it once it’s dry. Take a piece of chalk and rub it all over, then use a soft, dry cloth to wipe it off. Then you are ready to go!
20130530-222226.jpg
(Yes, only one of the chalkboards made it into the photo setup. I couldn’t think of what to write on the other one…)

Leave a Reply

